The Circle of Support

I have my first solo book signing coming up.

Solo as in all by my lonesome.

In the past I’ve always piggybacked with others at various  at conventions or big meet and greet events. But nope, this one is a real event. With real tables, books, pens, and especially readers.

Needless to say I’ve been a flailing wreck for the last few weeks as this date creeps closer and closer.  But as I bury my anxiety in two gallons of mudslide ice cream (With the chocolate chunks. I spare no expense with my therapy), I am comforted not only by the chocolate, but knowing my that RWASD friends are only a text or phone call away during this.

Just last week as I scrambled to pull together swag I had the horrifying revelation of “I have absolutely no idea what I’m doing.” All my productivity came to a screeching halt as I stared at my scattered piles of buttons and postcards. “I have absolutely no idea what I’m doing.” It just kept echoing in my head like a Gregorian chant.

“I have absolutely no idea what I’m doing.”

Maybe I should have just stuck with receptionist work.

After the paralysis passed, I posted on Facebook in a tizzy. I’m pretty sure I didn’t even use punctuation as I blubbered out how I had no clue what to do, that the sky was falling, and OH MY GOD WHY AM I DOING THIS SIGNING I’M A FRAUD! AAAHHH!

Alright so maybe isn’t wasn’t that bad.

After I vented, I already had a ton of comments from my fellow writers in RWASD. Good comments. Encouraging comments. Writers telling me that I had this, that they were going through the exact same crisis, or tips on what to do. Writers telling me to email them and they’ll give me a check list, telling me what to expect, or to take a deep breath because it was all going to be alright.

Writers telling me that yes, you are a writer and yes, you were going to succeed.

I had found my tribe. And they want me to succeed.

I started to breathe again.

That support is what I love about RWASD. Yes, my dues pay for great classes, meetings, and other perks but its the support that overwhelms me. I always thought I’d be an outsider when I joined, but right out the gate these wonderful writers have been cheering me on. Having that circle of support has kept me pushing forward. Not just pushing forward, it makes me want to pay it forward too. Nothing feels more awesome then seeing someone in our group succeed. RWASD has become a bit of a secondary family; a group of like minded writers who I can go to for help or to help. Knowing they are there for me has made my venture into writing a lot less terrifying and a lot more hopeful.

RWASD is my circle of support  and I am extremely grateful to have every single one of them.

2 thoughts on “The Circle of Support

  1. Wine tends to help more than ice cream. (Also, it’s more portable!) When and where is your booksigning? I’ll attend if I can. You’re very lucky to have the RWASD community to support you! I wish I’d had a tribe like this when I started writing 25 years ago! Booksigning Rule #1: Invite several friends—to ensure that you won’t be alone. Booksigning Rule #2: Learn where the bookstore’s restrooms are, because that’s what most passers-by will ask you. (Sad but true.) Booksigning Rule #3: Start with the wine 30-minutes prior. Also, breathing helps. EVERYBODY goes through this. Gotta pay yer dues. Hey, I’ve sold 3 million books (“1001 Ways to be Romantic”) and been on Oprah, and I’ve still had booksignings in a Barnes+Noble that felt like a vast, uninhabited, howling wasteland. (And forget the swag. It’s about the BOOK.)

  2. YES! RWASD is the most amazingly supportive group! Please add your signing info – I hope I can make it! You will be awesome!

Leave a Reply

