Meet The Chapter Mates: Alice Lake

unnamed

Its time to meet another of our talented chapter mates!

Alice Lake is a self published author of historical romance. She also writes contemporary romance under the name Mila Rossi. You can find more about her work at her website, MilaRossi.com. Lets find out more about her!

 

Tell us a little about yourself! Who are you? What do you write?

I’m originally from Romania and grew up in Austria. I came to the US as a teenager and am still very homesick. Luckily my husband likes to travel. I’ve been a member of RWASD for a couple of years now and I write historical romance under the name Alice Lake and contemporary romance under Mila Rossi.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’ve always written something, whether in school (I was an English major) or at work (as a technical writer), but I didn’t tell others I was a writer until I published my first book.

 

What does RWASD mean to you?

I’ve been so grateful to join RWASD because I met wonderful writers, learned valuable information and improved my craft as a result.

 

What is the biggest challenge your have faced on your journey to becoming a writer?

Goodness, everything has been challenging. Writing has always been a passion, so I don’t feel like that’s hard to do. I have so many ideas, but not enough time to write them all down. The business aspect is a big pain in the butt, especially if you self-publish. I had to learn all sorts of things I hadn’t considered before, such as book covers, formatting, beta readers, reviewers, the hassles of dealing with anything technology-related….It’s a long list.

 

What attracted you to the genre you write? Why does it speak to you?

a5I started out writing Victorian-era romance because that’s what I liked to read. In the last year, I’ve branched out to contemporary romance, which is much easier to write. There isn’t as much research involved, and it’s a relief when a character can just pick up the phone and call somebody, as opposed to my Victorian ladies who have to make a social call.

 

 

Where is the weirdest place or what is the weirdest thing that inspired an idea?

I was watching a show called House Hunters and saw a couple checking out tree houses to move into. I thought this was so crazy and exciting. Suddenly, my WILD GAMES story was born.

 

Who’s a writer you would do backflips to meet and why?

A couple of years ago, I would have named a few, but after actually meeting some, I realized that I apparently get very starstruck and clam up. I waited in line several hours to meet Janet Evanovich and then barely said Hello to her when it was my turn to see her.

 

If you could go back 20 years ago, What advice would you give yourself?

Start now! I waited a long time to start writing and even longer to become organized. After learning so much these last few years, the writing flows much better and the publishing process is not nearly as gruesome. I should point out that I self-publish, so I have everything down like a well-oiled machine.

 


WILD GAMESTell us about your latest novel!

WILD GAMES was released just before Thanksgiving and is a contemporary romance novella set in the Costa Rican jungle. It features a feisty botanist and the security guard hired to keep an eye on her research team. It was fun to see how these two hotheads bickered and overcame the challenges of sharing a tree house. I had a great time writing it.

 

 

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I am finishing up CHANGE OF PLANS, my latest Mila Rossi novella, which deals with the consequences of the characters’ one-night-stand. It was interesting to write since I hadn’t written about one-night-stands before, but I like to challenge myself. Also, the first Victorian-era book in my Guild of Hybrids series is being published on February 1st, so I’m very excited about that. It’s called DANGEROUS KISSES and features a secret female society. Lavinia, who is a Guild of Hybrids member, is hired to ruin her client’s fiancé, whom she of course falls in love with. It’s never easy falling in love.

 

Before you go, any advice to give to the new writers out there?

Yes, read and write with an open mind. Be open to new ideas and don’t be scared to try new genres, different POVs and considering input from others. With my first couple of books, I was so stuck on doing only what I thought was right, but now I value the opinion of others.

Leave a Reply

