Meet The Chapter Mates: Margaret Taylor

CHP Graduation Photo CTC-III 83 colorFor July we talk to Margaret Taylor, someone the chapter knows for her warm smile and  vast knowledge of law enforcement.

She’s currently working on a new contemporary romance  series called The Delinquency Club.

You can learn more about Margaret at her Facebook page, M.A. Taylor.

Tell us a little about yourself! Who are you? What do you write?

I’m Margaret Taylor, I’m the youngest of ten children. Both of my parents were in the military so it’s no wonder most of my siblings and I ended up in either military or paramilitary occupations. I worked law enforcement all of my adult life until a back injury derailed my career and forced me to retire.

As I fought to keep my law enforcement job, I began assisting my sister as she wrote a Romantic Suspense. LOL – at the time we thought writing a book consisted of BIC (Butt-In-Chair) and not much else. Happily, we stumbled across RWA and realized all of what we didn’t know, but needed to learn. I currently write Non-fiction research books for Writers regarding various aspects of law enforcement and have finished the first story in a Mystery Series. Currently, I am working on a Contemporary Romance Short Series titled The Delinquency Club.

When did you first consider yourself a writer? 

Being completely candid, I still don’t consider myself a writer. I’m a storyteller. I love telling a story and pulling listeners into the tale with me. I’m working hard to transition my verbal storytelling skills into written ones. Commas had me on the ropes several times, but with Pamela Moran as a critique partner I can actually see a future where I get a handle on them. OR end up in a shallow grave covered in Lime (at least that’s what I heard her mutter a time or three).

What does RWASD mean to you? 

I skipped over this question and came back to it, I needed the time to figure out how to describe how much RWASD means to me. From the first RWASD meeting I attended, I fell in love with the writers in attendance. It was not just their knowledge, friendliness, or positive attitudes that endeared these women to me. All of the writers I met from RWASD were professional, focused and worked hard at Pay-It-Forward practices. I was assisted, encouraged and mentored into completing my first book through RWASD, something I wasn’t sure I could ever do. RWASD is my second family, great as individuals, unstoppable as a group.

What is the biggest challenge you have faced on your journey to becoming a writer? 

Sitting down and writing. It is way too easy to allow low priority items to take precedence over writing. I’m an extrovert, not used to sitting alone at my computer for hours at a time writing especially about <EEEK> emotions.  

What attracted you to the genre you write? Why does it speak to you?

Mysteries and Romantic Suspense, it’s a genre and characters that I’m comfortable Investigations1with. I understand how the characters and world fit together. Not to mention it gives me the opportunity to workout ‘What-If’ events that occurred when I worked the field. My Contemporary Romance Series is about delinquents so it’s safe to say I feel pretty comfortable exploring and writing about characters on both sides of the law.

Where is the weirdest place or what is the weirdest thing that inspired an idea? 

Well . . . the idea of The Delinquency Club came to me as I sat outside the Principal’s Office, yet again, of my son’s school waiting to gain an audience. I was greeted, by name, by the various staff members who passed by or through the area. That started me thinking what if a single parent with a challenging child . . .

Love Scenes. Steamy or sweet? Why?

Steamy of course, because who doesn’t love that kind of research. LOL

Who’s a writer you would do backflips to meet and why? 

Actually, I’ve been fortunate enough to meet and chat with my favorite authors. Nora Roberts, Frank Miller (he even drew me two pictures of his characters), Linda Howard, Stan Lee, to name a few.

If you could go back 20 years ago, What advice would you give yourself? 

Work less, live more in the now.

Tell us about your latest novel!  

The Delinquency Club is about single people (they’re not always biological parents) who end up with or have a vested interest in children who need reinforced boundaries and very structured goals. The children are the catalyst for the adults learning more about themselves and helping them realize love like life is not perfect.

Before you go, any advice to give to the new writers out there?

No one can write flawlessly, so write fearlessly and from the heart.  Now, if I can only follow my own advice. ;}

7 thoughts on “Meet The Chapter Mates: Margaret Taylor

  1. I identify with you especially about taking your own advice. I’ve attended your workshops at conferences and not only enjoyed them but also got all kinds of great information. Thank you, Margaret.

Leave a Reply

